Montessori cultural and science lesson

Montessori mathematics

5 Components of Montessori


1. Practical Life:

The exercises for practical life are designed to teach the child to function in their own environment by teaching them how to interact with the things around them. The practical life area prepares the child indirectly for all other areas of the curriculum with order, concentration, coordination and independence. Practical life exercises include pouring, sorting, food preparation, care of self (hand washing, buttons and zippers, grooming), care of the environment (tidying the classroom, tucking in chairs, dusting, polishing).

As the child progresses through the practical life activities, they become more involved. An elementary child learns advanced cooking skills or techniques. This is the easiest area of the classroom to bring to your home environment. Parents are encouraged to invite their child to sort the laundry. Show them how to load the washer and put in the appropriate amount of detergent. After the load of laundry is dry, your child can fold the laundry.



2. Sensorial Area:

Sensorial exercises deal with developing the five senses. By developing the five senses, the child develops intelligence and independence. Dr. Montessori wrote, “The aim (of sensorial exercises) is an inner one, namely, that the child trains himself to observe; that he be led to make comparisons between objects, to form judgments, to reason and to decide; and it is in the indefinite repetition of this exercise of attention and of intelligence that a real development ensues.” The sensorial area also includes geometry as the subject is introduced to the child through their senses.



3. Language Area:

Children are taught the alphabet phonetically, using Sand Paper Letters to learn the formation of each letter. Printing is practiced daily for all age groups. As children learn the phonetic sounds, they can blend these sounds together to start reading simple three letter words (Pink Scheme), four and five letter words (Blue Scheme) and eventually learning to read all the different word families (Green Scheme). Children also learn parts of speech, sentence structure and journal writing. Children use the hands on Montessori Materials in the classroom to practice various concepts in the Language Area.



4. Mathematics:

We begin with manipulatives, then slowly lead into abstract concepts.Mathematics is the science of numbers. Montessori mathematics focuses on numeration, the decimal system, and geometry. Our base ten system encourages the child to sequence and order his work. Beginning with numbers 1-10, 11-99, and 1-1000, the children learn linear counting and recognition of numerals, which then leads into addition, subtraction, multiplication and division concepts. This is accomplished through fun activities which involve lots of movement, manipulatives and group work. As the child matures, individual work is encouraged and abstract learning begins to take place.



5. Cultural Area:

Cultural subjects include history, geography, art, physical science, cosmology, music and physical movement. The aim of studying culture is to allow the child to experience their place in the universe. They begin by exploring similarities between their culture and others, and then have appreciation and respect for differences. They learn how all beings are fundamentally related and discover ways to feel they are significant beings in this world.

Higher Expectations, Higher Achievement

Claudia's Christian Montessori Academy's curriculum is not aligned with the common core as far as each child is concerned as each child interacts, moves about the classroom, and has the opportunity to learn at their cognitive pace.

The Common Core curriculum is used as a guideline as to what the child should be exposed to based on academics. 


What are Common Core State Standards?

The Common Core State Standards Initiative has established a set of clear educational standards for grades kindergarten through 12th grade in English, language arts, and mathematics, that  the state voluntarily adopts. These standards are designed to ensure that students graduating from high school are prepared to enter higher level courses in two or four-year college programs, or to enter the workforce. These standards also ensure that parents, teachers, and students have a vivid understanding of the expectations in reading, writing, speaking and listening, language, and mathematics in school.

Mississippi adopted the Common Core State Standards (CCSS) in 2010, because they provide a concise understanding of what students are expected to learn so that teachers and parents know what they need to do to assist them as they matriculate from year to year. Consistent standards, also adopted by 45 other states, will provide appropriate academic benchmarks for all students at each grade level, regardless of where they live.

The standards emphasize critical thinking, teamwork and problem-solving skills, as the standards are grounded in college and career readiness (